Freedom before the Revolution

by AmyDolores

I love the library. More specifically, I love the biography section in the library. I’ve always been intrigued by the history of one single person; the face they showed the world and their true actions that both compliment and defy it. A blooming feminist at the ripe age of 11, I was completely fascinated by the monumental women of history – the women who played the confining game of societal expectations while all at once defying the norm and carving themselves a spot in history.

Marie Antoinette.

I’ll be honest, my initial interest in her was her gowns. Call me vain – but I only cared for her vanity. It wasn’t until I started learning  about her aristocratic, short life that I came to the realization that I both loathed and adored her. Her naive approach (or lack of any approach) towards the state of her nation absolutely repulsed me – a true product of her blinded, lavish upbringing. Her daring, opulent, scandalous way of dressing has eternally dazzled me. She didn’t know shit about politics but she knew her shit about style.  Marie was an original risk taker – she dressed to awaken both contempt and intrigue. With no one to please but herself. That’s one stylish lady.

Of all her absurdly ornate styling, my personal favorite was her most simple look – muslin chemises with a sash. Daringly simple. Empire Waist. Breathy and free.

Empire Waist Gown

Empire Waist Gown with Floral Lace Applique